On behalf of the board of governors of Dobcroft Junior School, I would like to welcome you to our website, and in particular, our governor section.

What do school governors do?

The governing body of a school has a strategic, rather than operational role. Together we:

  • set the strategic direction for the school

  • ensure the school finances are suitably managed and best use is made of the available funding

  • monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives

  • be a source of challenge and support to the headteacher (a critical friend)

Who are the governors?

A governing body typically comprises the headteacher, the deputy headteacher, at least one other member of staff, a number of parents, and representatives from the wider community appointed by the local authority. This is our current governing body:

Nicola Sexton (Headteacher)

Michael Elliott

Shiraz Taraporewalla

Paul Wilde

Janine Farrah (Staff)

Ian Besford (Chair of Governors)

Helena Jones (Vice-Chair of Governors)

Sheree Doyle (Deputy Headteacher)

Sue Prestwood (Safeguarding)

Elizabeth Towning

Jo Herold (staff)

Chris Harland

Charlotte Bown

When do we meet?

Our governing body meets formally, in full, three times per term. Details of meetings can be found on the meetings page. In addition, we have a number of smaller sub groups such as pay review groups, DIS collaboration, HT performance management, and policy review. These typically meet once per year as required and report to the formal governing body meetings.

How can I get in touch?

If you have any questions, concerns, or want to get involved, email me at:

Kind regards, Ian Besford Chair of Governors